Carlisle United will face Barrow and Fleetwood Town in the group stages of the Papa John's Trophy.

The Blues have been paired with the duo in Group G of the competition - and will be joined by one of eight invited academy teams after Thursday's draws.

The full list of academy teams that could be in Carlisle's group are below:

  • Everton
  • Leeds United
  • Leicester City
  • Liverpool
  • Manchester City
  • Manchester United
  • Newcastle United
  • Wolverhampton Wanderers

Academy teams will be drawn into their groups at 11:30am on Thursday, June 23 - with the draw to be broadcast on Sky Sports News.

SURVEY: Have your say on the business Carlisle United still need to do!

Last year, the Blues won a group that included Everton U21s, Morecambe and Hartlepool United, before then beating Lincoln City in the second round.

Their cup run was ended by Harrogate Town though, with Rotherham United eventually lifting the trophy.

The first ties in this season's competition will take place on the week commencing August 29.

Elsewhere, it has been confirmed that Carlisle will be number nine in the Carabao Cup draw.

That will be held at 2:30pm on Thursday.

READ MORE: What to expect from a busy week at Carlisle