Seven-time British champion Scott Nicholls, veteran Ulrich Ostergaard and Australian rising star Jordan Stewart are the latest names to join the Cumberland Open Championship line-up.

The trio join former Workington stars Josh Grajczonek, Ricky Wells and Kyle Howarth and current riders Rene Bach, Nicolai Klindt, Ty Proctor, Rasmus Jensen, Dan Bewley, Mason Campton and Kyle Bickley in the field, with the final three names yet to be revealed.

Club owner Laura Morgan said: “I am quite excited by the line-up we have put together so far and hopefully our supporters are too; it certainly promises to be a great way to get the season under way.

“With our own riders plus four former Comets, the emerging talent of Jordan Stewart and a visit from multiple British Champion Scott Nicholls announced so far the field is shaping up very nicely and the competition is sure to be fierce to claim top spot on the podium.”

It will be only the second time Peterborough No1 Nicholls will have visited Derwent Park after he first came to the track for the opening meeting of club owner Laura Morgan’s promotion in 2013.

One-time Comet Ostergaard will be a team-mate of Nicholls at the Panthers this season but the pair will face off in the Cumberland Open.

The Dane has been a popular figure in Workington since his short spell with the club following club legend Carl Stonehewer’s injury in 2007.

And Stewart may be a new face to some but he is rapidly making a name for himself in the sport and has been rewarded with a place in Redcar’s side this year to make his debut in British speedway.

With the news that the Ben Fund Bonanza fundraiser at Peterborough has been postponed, the Workington promotion has offered fans the chance to support the Speedway Riders Benevolent Fund at the Cumberland Open.

Season ticket holders from any British speedway clubs will pay just £10 admission, with half of that going to the Ben Fund on production of their season ticket.

All children attending will also receive a complimentary chocolate egg.