Former Carlisle United goalkeeper Magnus Norman has earned an international call-up.

The former Blues No1 has been named in the latest England C squad.

He is in a provisional 25-man squad for a game against Wales later this month.

Norman now plays for Oldham Athletic and has totted up an ever-present 34 National League appearances for the Latics.

His form has caught the eye of England C boss Paul Fairclough and could feature in the Wales game at Altrincham on Tuesday, March 21.

Norman has been a regular between the posts under David Unsworth at Oldham, who are 15th in non-league’s top tier.

The England C team is selected from the National League and below.

READ MORE: Young Carlisle United fans pictured on march to Brunton Park

Norman joined Oldham last summer after turning down the chance to stay at Carlisle.

He made 16 first-team appearances for the Cumbrians under Chris Beech, and started last season as the Blues’ first-choice keeper.

Injury, and the subsequent form of autumn signing Mark Howard, then left Norman short of first-team opportunities as the 2021/22 season went on.

He was offered a new deal at the end of last season but turned it down in favour of first-team football at Boundary Park.

The final England C squad will be confirmed after next week’s National Legue fixtures.

Current and former Carlisle players who have represented England C include Jon Mellish, Karl Hawley, Simon Grand and Aaron Hayden.

The full provisional squad is: Sam Howes (Wealdstone), Magnus Norman (Oldham Athletic), Harrison Male (Worthing), Tyler Cordner (Aldershot), Vince Harper (Eastleigh), Harry Phipps (Dagenham & Redbridge), Kenton Richardson (Gateshead), Dan Gallagher (Dorking Wanderers), Jesse Debrah (FC Halifax Town), Josh Lundstram (Altrincham), Darren Oldaker (Chesterfield), James Daly (Woking), Ryan De Havilland (Barnet), Regan Booty (Maidstone United), Matty Worthington (Yeovil Town), James Vennings (Bromley), Gus Scott-Morriss (Southend United), Olly Dyson (York City), Dennon Lewis (Boreham Wood), Cameron Wilson (Scunthorpe United), Sam Dalby (Wrexham), Emile Acquah (Maidenhead United), Joe Sbarra (Solihull Moors), Macaulay Langstaff (Notts County), Aaron Jarvis (Torquay United).