STUDENTS who have excelled over the last two years have been recognised at a celebratory event.

Staff, students and families gathered at Whitehaven Golf Club as Egremont's West Lakes Academy hosted its annual Sixth Form awards evening.

News and Star: Services to the academy awardServices to the academy award (Image: Submitted)

More than 30 awards were handed out including accolades for services to the academy, overcoming adversity and excelling in a particular subject area.

Notable winners from the evening included Blayne Moorhouse, Leah Devlin, Theo Ancell and Ben Wishart who all won more than one award.

News and Star: Principal's award winnerPrincipal's award winner (Image: Submitted)

The Principal’s Award went to Ivy Leatherbarrow with Amy Whyte receiving the Governors’ Award and Imogen Bear receiving the Services to the Academy Award.

Di Brown, Pastoral Head of Sixth Form said: “After opening speeches, the students, parents and staff enjoyed a two-course meal, listening to the melodies played for us on the piano by Fin in Year 12. 

News and Star: Governor's awardGovernor's award (Image: Submitted)

“The award presentations followed on from this and there were plenty of happy tears. It was a such lovely evening and enjoyed by everyone.  There were over 30 individual awards given out, each with the reason that particular student had been awarded theirs.

“We hope that we created an evening that will be remembered fondly by our award winners and their families. Well done to them all, we are so incredibly proud of them and their achievements.”

News and Star: Leah Devlin was among the notable winners of the eveningLeah Devlin was among the notable winners of the evening (Image: Submitted)