Cumbrian star Helen Housby has been named in the England netball squad which will aim to repeat their Commonwealth Games glory.

The 26-year-old has been selected in a squad of 24 for the Vitality Roses programme ahead of the 2021-22 international season.

The campaign will culminate with the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham next year.

That will see Housby and England out to emulate their historic 2018 achievement, when the Cumbrian's memorable last-gasp shot against Australia won gold for England.

Housby, from Drumleaning near Wigton, plays in Australia with Sydney-based New South Wales Swifts, who recently got their Suncorp Super Netball campaign under way.

When on England duty, the Carlisle-born player will join her team-mates in a combination of UK-based training camps and competitive games at home and abroad over the next 12 months.

Jess Thirlby, Vitality Roses head coach, said: “We are excited to be announcing the names of the players who have gained a spot in the 2021-22 Vitality Roses programme.  

“With a limited number of spaces available in the full-time Roses programme each year and a growing pool of talent in England, competition for spots in the team is tighter than ever.

"It is brilliant to have so much talent to choose from, however it makes our jobs extremely difficult when it comes to selection.  

“I am excited about this cohort of athletes and what each one of them brings to the table. 

"The next 12 months will be vital in our preparations for the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, it’s going to be a really exciting international season for this squad and for all the Vitality Roses fans.”

International fixtures for the 2021-2 season have yet to be confirmed.

The full squad is: Serena Guthrie, Vicki Oyesola, Razia Quashie, Imogen Allison, Gabriella Marshall, Sophie Drakeford-Lewis, Natalie Panagarry, Beth Cobden, Francesca Williams, Jade Clarke, Eleanor Cardwell, Laura Malcolm, Halimat Adio, Ella Clark, Hannah Joseph, Rhea Dixon, Layla Guscoth, Joanne Harten, Helen Housby, Stacey Francis-Bayman, George Fisher, Geva Mentor, Chelsea Pitman and Natalie Haythornthwaite.

Seven further players have been selected for the Roses Futures programme: Zara Everitt, Amy Carter, Kira Rothwell, Olivia Tchine, Sienna Rushton, Brie Grierson and Funmi Fadoju.