CARLISLE MP John Stevenson has voted against plans to stop the next Prime Minister to force through a no-deal Brexit.

The Commons backed the move by 315 votes to 274, with a majority of 41, which could prevent the next PM from suspending Parliament in order to allow the UK to crash out of the EU.

Penrith and the Border MP Rory Stewart, along with the chancellor Philip Hammond, justice secretary David Gauke, and business secretary Greg Clark did not take part in the vote.

Meanwhile, Margot James resigned as minister for digital after voting against the Government, she was among 17 Tories who rebelled by backing the amendment.

Theresa May was said to be "disappointed" that several ministers failed to support the Government.

A Downing Street spokesman said: "The Prime Minister is obviously disappointed that a number of ministers failed to vote in this afternoon's division and issued a warning to the MPs over whether their roles will still be available under her successor.

"No doubt her successor will take this into account when forming their government."