Our staff

The News & Star is a fresh, bright and bold daily newspaper that is genuinely ‘part of daily life’ across north and west Cumbria.

The paper serves an area that includes Carlisle, west Cumbria, Penrith and parts of south west Scotland.

In recent years it has picked up many regional and national awards.

Editor David Helliwell leads a team based in Carlisle with reporters also based in Workington and Whitehaven.

telephone; email; Twitter

Editor: David Helliwell
@Dave_Helliwell

PA to editor: Alison Sisson
Tel: 01228 612617
Email: alison.sisson@cnmedia.co.uk

Deputy editor: Andy Nixon
Tel: 01228 612676
Email: andy.nixon@cnmedia.co.uk
@andynewsandstar

Head of content: Chris Story
Tel: 01228 612693
Email: chris.story@cnmedia.co.uk
@ChrisStoryCN

Online editor: Ian Brogden
Tel: 01228 612677
Email: ian.brogden@cnmedia.co.uk
@broggy8

News editor: Sue Crawford
Tel: 01228 612665
Email: sue.crawford@cnmedia.co.uk
@crawfie

Assistant news editor: Emily Parsons
Tel: 01228 612653
Email: emily.parsons@cnmedia.co.uk
@EmilyJParsons

Business editor: Julian Whittle
Tel: 01228 612642
Email: julian.whittle@cnmedia.co.uk

Reporter: Duncan Bick
Tel: 01228 612657
Email: duncan.bick@cnmedia.co.uk
@duncanbick

Farming reporter: Maureen Hodges
Tel: 01228 612221
Email: maureen.hodges@cnmedia.co.uk
@DancingSheep1

Chief reporter: Phil Coleman
Tel: 01228 612298
Email: phil.coleman@cnmedia.co.uk
@InCarlisle

Education reporter: Kelly Pattison
Tel: 01228 612641
Email: kelly.pattison@cnmedia.co.uk
@kellypattisonCN

Crime reporter: Nick Griffiths
Tel: 01228 612206
Email: nick.griffiths@cnmedia.co.uk
@Blues48

Health reporter: Pam McGowan
Tel: 01228 612661
Email: pam.mcgowan@cnmedia.co.uk
@pammymcg100

Reporter: Pamela McClounie
Tel: 01228 612232
Email: pamela.mcclounie@cnmedia.co.uk
@pammcclounie

Reporter: Jonny Irving
Tel: 01228 612660
Email: jonny.irving@cnmedia.co.uk
@jonnyirving1990

Reporter: Matt Cobb
Tel: 01228 612204
Email: matthew.cobb@cnmedia.co.uk
@MattCobb88

Reporter: Freya Findlay
Tel: 01228 612695
Email: freya.findlay@cnmedia.co.uk
@ffindlayy

Reporter: Jenny Brown
Tel: 01228 612220
Email: jenny.brown@cnmedia.co.uk
@jenny_lynn123

West Cumbria reporter: Jenny Barwise
Tel: 01946 595152
Email: jenny.barwise@cnmedia.co.uk
@jennybarwise

Dep. features editor: Mark Green
Tel: 01228 612205
Email: mark.green@cnmedia.co.uk
@markgreen53

Features writer: Roger Lytollis
Tel: 01228 612662
Email: roger.lytollis@cnmedia.co.uk
@rogerlytollis

Features writer: Stephen Blease
Tel: 01228 612663
Email: stephen.blease@cnmedia.co.uk

Feature sub editor: Kate Rees
Tel: 01228 612670
Email: kate.rees@cnmedia.co.uk
@flamingkt2014

Head of imaging: Stewart Blair
Tel: 01228 612633
Email: stewart.blair@cnmedia.co.uk
@StewartMBlair

Photographer: Stuart Walker
Tel: 01228 612269
Email: stuart.walker@cnmedia.co.uk
@StuWalkerPhotos

Photographer: Dave Hollins
Tel: 01228 612631
Email: dave.hollins@cnmedia.co.uk

Photographer: Louise Porter
Tel: 01228 612635
Email: louise.porter@cnmedia.co.uk

Photographer: Paula Paisley
Tel: 01228 612631
Email: paula.paisley@cnmedia.co.uk

Asst editor (sport): Phil Rostron
Tel: 01228 612687
Email: phil.rostron@cnmedia.co.uk
@philrostron

Deputy sports editor: Tony Harrison
Tel: 01228 612685
Email: tony.harrison@cnmedia.co.uk
@tony_h58

Sports reporter: Jon Colman
Tel: 01228 612690
Email: jon.colman@cnmedia.co.uk
@joncolman

PRESS COMPLAINTS This newspaper abides by the Independent Press Standards Organisation code of practice.

Readers who wish to make representations about articles or staff should write in the first instance to the Editor, News & Star, Newspaper House, Dalston Road, Carlisle, CA2 5UA.

If not satisfied, complainants can contact: Independent Press Standards Organisation, Gate House, 1 Farringdon Street, London EC4M 7LG

Email: complaints@ipso.co.uk
Tel: 0300 123 2220
Website: www.ipso.co.uk