The League Two season is rapidly approaching - with Carlisle United set to return to training in just over a week.

Paul Simpson's side will kick-off their on-field preparations for the new campaign on June 22, with the club then set to learn their fixtures the following day.

And ahead of the new season, here's all the key dates for fans of the Cumbrians to be aware of:

Key transfer dates

The transfer window is now officially open, with clubs having been able to register new additions since June 10.

Clubs can sign players until September 1, when the trading period will end.

There is still scope to sign free agents following that point.

League Two dates

Carlisle United will kick-off their new League Two season slightly earlier than usual, with the first round of fixtures set to take place on July 30.

The season will then conclude on May 6 - with the play-off final scheduled for May 27.

While the Premier League and Championship will pause for the World Cup between November 12 and December 10, League Two fixtures will continue during the tournament.

FA Cup dates

Confirmed dates for the 2022/23 FA Cup are yet to be released, but the FA have shared their proposed schedule.

That would see Carlisle take part in first round action on the weekend of November 5.

Carabao Cup dates

The Blues will enter the Carabao Cup at the first round stage, which will be held on August 10.

Full round dates are below:

  • First Round - 10 August
  • Second Round - 14 August
  • Third Round - November 9
  • Fourth Round - December 21
  • Quarter Final - January 11
  • Semi Final - January 25 & February 1
  • Final - February 26

Papa John's Trophy dates

Carlisle will once again take part in the Papa John's Trophy, with the format set to remain unchanged from last season.

That means Simpson's side will compete in at least three group fixtures - which are scheduled for August 31, September 21 and October 19.

Here's all the scheduled dates for the Papa John's Trophy:

  • Group games - August 31, September 21 & October 19
  • Second Round - November 30
  • Third Round - December 14
  • Quarter Final - January 11
  • Semi Final - February 1
  • Final - March 19