Window Outlet Cockermouth and District Snooker League stepped aside this week as the Eric McMullen Memorial Trophy 7s Handicap TKO semi-finals took place, with both Workington Golf Club and Station Road A making the final on April 29.

In the first semi, home advantage for Station Road B gave them an edge, but with the Golf Club in top form they moved into the final as 4-2 winners.

A victory for Alan McLeod put Station B 1-0 up, but with Bryan Walker and Lewis Tilley winning the next two, the golfers were 2-1 in front. Back came Station B as Mark Tunstall won the fourth to level.

However the golf club moved into top gear as Phil Sorfleet and Mark Cowen won the last two frames to take their team into the final of a competition they have yet to win.

In the other clash, Station A produced an excellent performance on home soil as they powered to victory from 2-1 down to beat Workington Veterans Club 4-2.

A superb performance by Mark Robertson gave Station A the ideal start ,but Mike Dawson and Paul Mostyn then gave Vets a 2-1 lead.

The turning point came in the next, an unlucky in-off on the blue letting Darren Lawson in, and he scored enough to tie the match.

This shook the Vets, and Andrew Henderson and John Teasdale then took the last two frames to put Station A into the final.

The 7s plate semis also took place this week - Flimby Social and Maryport Social both winning through to the final.

Flimby played particularly well in their match as a 4-1 win over the United Club now sees them as plate favourites.

Flimby’s wins came from Geoff Banton (31 break), Michael ‘Sid’ Walker (32 break), Mark Forsyth and Richard Kirkham with Clive Lister being United’s only resistance.

Finally, the last match, and second plate semi-final, saw Maryport Social produce one of their best wins of the season, albeit with a handicap advantage, to beat Workington Conservative Club 4-2 away.

Ben Irving, Ben Scott, John Fleming and Andrew Sharp did the job for the Maryport outfit, with Julian Plaza being the Cons only victor.

All fixtures, league results and latest KO status can be found on the league’s website at