Despite the efforts of the weather, a big turnout of members got to Keswick’s recently refurbished Skiddaw Hotel for the annual Wigton Motor Club awards dinner.

Members came from as far away as Perth and Manchester for the event, where they enjoyed a three-course meal before it was time to present the awards for the championships and overall club champions for 2019.

The overall club championship went to Phil Hodgson, who also sponsors the autotest series.

Jacqui Raine was the ladies champion, while Geoff Rae and Peter Wright won the autotest and autosolo championships.

Events cannot take place without marshals and once again the club’s stalwart marshal Eddie Parson was the champion, missing very few events either with Wigton or other motor clubs he was working for.

Ron and Malcolm Mounsey won the stage rally championship after their excellent year, winning their class in the British Historic Rally Championship.

Harry Moody was the speed champion.

The enthusiast of the year award went to David Agnew for his tremendous effort as project manager for the Motor House, which is nearing completion.

David Marsden and Mike Garstang won the Historic Rally Awards series while the sister Targa series went to Phil Hodgson and Ian Giles.

Second were Brian Bradley and Michael Marsden, with third going to Malcolm Mackay and Marc Crack.

John and Marian Sloan won class P of the Historic series in their MG Midget, with Ian Dixon taking second driver.

David Agnew won class H of the series

In the autotests, Craig Stamper won the FWD class and John Holliday the RWD section.

Callum Alexander took the PCA FWD and Ian Cowan the PCA RWD class.

Next up for the club’s new season will be an autotest on March 1, which will be followed by the Midweek Meander on March 11 and the speed test day on March 22.

Details of these and other events can be found on the club’s website at