Whitehaven captain Marc Shackley missed out on receiving a handful of trophies at the club’s annual presentation night.

Shackley, who led Whitehaven through a memorable title-winning season, should have been there - but the collapse of Thomas Cook interfered with his arrangements.

Taking an alternative holiday meant he had to be away for the presentations but he was able to speak to team-mates, officials and fans through modern technology with a recorded message.

Shackley had been voted the News & Star / Whitehaven News Readers’ Player of the Year, Away Supporters Player of the Year, Coach’s Player of the Year and Players’ Player of the Year.

Shackley had missed out to team-mate Dion Aiye in the League One awards for Player of the Year but Andrew Bulman, who had been voted League One’s Young Player of the Year completed the double by landing the club award for the same category.

Tough-tackling centre Chris Taylor took the Directors’ Player of the Year award while the Clubman of the Year award went to keen fan Shaun Drinkwater, who has played a key role in boosting away support through organised coach trips.

The B&H Motors Try of the Season award, presented by Ron Batty, went to Jake Moore for his long-range effort in the derby win at Derwent Park against Workington Town.

Mark Stamper hosted the evening and the awards were presented by club president Phil Kitchin, a former Whitehaven player and Great Britain international.

There was also a special award for team manager Des Byrne which was presented on behalf of the players by vice-captain Callum Phillips.

Director Jason Ball also presented lifelong supporters William and Geoff Gibson with season tickets for 2020. The pair have travelled from Penrith for over 55 years to watch Whitehaven home and away.