Carlisle Cricket Club have taken delivery of the Readers Cumbria Cricket League Premier Division trophy.

It was officially handed over after their win at Keswick on the final day by league chairman Steve Chambers. But then, on their return to Edenside after the game on Saturday, the trophy was handed over again as the club held their own presentation night.

There will be a third presentation but not until Saturday, October 26 at the annual league dinner in Barrow-in-Furness.

Secretary Mark Davidson said: “The four-year development programme put in place by first-team captain Marc Brown has been delivered on time, and the Premier Division trophy now rests proudly in the clubhouse, its first visit in 37 seasons.

"The captain himself, along with the players, are deserving of the utmost praise as the planning to maintain this outstanding consistency [one defeat in 22 league games] gets under way.

"As Marc himself has commented, nearly all of our players started their development at Edenside under the watchful eye of Dick Scott who, along with Bryan Laidlow, has been at the heart of producing an ongoing conveyor belt of talent over many years.

"The effects ripple through all of our teams who, as always, have served up rich entertainment throughout the summer months.

"Success doesn’t come without a lot of hard work from the committee, steered tirelessly, as always, by [chairman] Mike Rayson who puts in many hours behind the scenes."

Carlisle had rounded off the season with a comfortable win at Keswick after they had beaten their hosts by 82 runs.

James Dawson (63), Mike Slack (38) and James Lythgoe (33) led the way as they were all out off the penultimate ball of the final over for 198. Dan Gaskell (4-54) and Geeth Kumara (4-68) shared the bowling honours for Keswick.

Professional Kumara held the Keswick innings together with a fighting 58, but opener William Atkinson (13) was the only other batsmen to reach double figures. Jonathan Davidson took 4-28 and Slack had 3-13 as the home side were bowled out for 116.

Popular Sri Lankan Kumara is to re-join Keswick as their professional for the 2020 season, which will be his ninth year with the club.

And there is an option for the all-rounder to return to Keswick for 2021, too, with the intention of what would be a decade of excellent service to the club being rewarded with a benefit.

Kumara returned to Sri Lanka earlier this week and, later this year, will continue with his first-class professional career in his home city of Colombo.

Wigton were unable to finish with a win as they went down by 45 runs at home to Furness.

Scott Pearcey made 66 in a Furness 50-over total of 179-7, with Chris Hodgson the most successful Wigton bowler with 3-39.

Nico Watt (31) and John Reed (30) were the leading run-makers for Wigton when they were bowled out for 134.

It meant Wigton finished next to bottom, 11th of the 12 competing clubs, but comfortably 47 points clear of Egremont who make a swift return to Division One.

Likewise, Haverigg will be promoted back to the Premier Division after just one season out of the top-flight.

On the final day, there was a surprise two-run defeat for 2018 champions Cockermouth at home to Whitehaven; the first win of the season for relegated Egremont over Millom; a quick-fire win by 10 wickets for Cleator after bowling out Dalton for 47 and a heavy defeat, by 172 runs, for Workington at Lindal.