The warm-up to next week’s Eric McMullen Memorial Trophy Handicap Team Knock-out final took place this week with division one’s Workington Golf Club presiding over division two double winners Station Road A in the plate competition, 4-1.

Even though the plate competition sits behind the Window Outlet Cockermouth and District Snooker League’s premier team knock out title it certainly wasn’t looked upon in any lesser circumstances as both teams showed tremendous determination in their persuit for the trophy.

In the first frame of the match a free-flowing encounter saw Station A’s Tom Thompson take on the Golf Club’s Bryan Walker. Wasting no time both players potted well but with Walker scored the better of the two players to go 1-0 up with a 77-33 win. Frame two proved to be another relatively quick affair albeit a one-sided one as Mike Walker beat the Golf Club’s Mark Brasted tried hard to drag himself back into it but as Walker clinically closed out the frame match parity was delivered on the back of a 64-7 to draw level.

At 1-1 the Golf Club’s Mark Cowen did most of the scoring but with some resolute play Station A’s John Teasdale was still in the frame as just the colours remained. A fine pot on the brown by Mark Cowen against Station A’s John Teasdale made the difference however and as the blue and pink followed he put the Golf Club 2-1 up with a 56-39 win.

Then the Golf Club’s Ian Fulton’s 51 left Station A’s Darren Lawson with far too much to do and Fulton won 87-44 to put this side 3-1 up.

In what turned out to be the final frame, Station A’s Mark Robertson took on the Golf Club’s Phil Sorfleet. A cagey affair ensued as Sorfleet’s hunger to close out the match was negated by Robertson’s desire to continue it. As just the colours stood the frame could still have gone either way but in potting the balls he required it was but Sorfleet took the game 53-50 to claim the match and title for the Golf Club in style.