Carlisle United co-owner John Nixon will continue on a new-look EFL board, it has been confirmed.

The Blues director remains League Two representative at the league's top table for the new season.

But there are three new faces joining Nixon and his fellow club chiefs.

One is Preston's Peter Ridsdale, who will represent Championship clubs.

Also joining the board with the ex-Leeds chairman from the second tier are Nottingham Forest chairman Nicholas Randall and Middlesbrough chief executive Neil Bausor.

They join Nixon and the League One reps - Fleetwood's Steve Curwood and Burton's Jez Moxey.

The new Championship trio replace Reading's Nigel Howe, Derby's Stephen Pearce and Ipswich's former Bristol City man Mark Ashton.

United co-owner Nixon has sat on the EFL board for several years, whilst also holding other positions with the EFL Trust and Football Association.

The former Blues managing director remains a director on both operational and holdings boards at Brunton Park, meanwhile, as "director of external affairs".

The EFL board's club directors are voted for by the 24 clubs in their respective divisions, and are joined on the board by chairman Rick Parry, chief executive Trevor Birch, senior independent non-executive director Debbie Jevans and independent non-executive director Simon Bazelgette.

Parry said in a statement: “I’d like to once again thank those departing for the contribution they have all made during their tenure on the board.

"We now move forward and welcome three new and highly experienced individuals to represent Championship clubs.

“There remain some big challenges ahead, particularly as we await the outcome of the Fan Led Review, seek fairer financial distribution across the pyramid and re-open our stadiums to supporters at the start of the domestic season in a few weeks’ time.

"But I have no doubt that their understanding of the key issues and their knowledge of the footballing landscape will prove invaluable for the EFL at this time.”