RESIDENTS and businesses in Cumbria are being asked if the county should be served by one unitary authority.

Currently, a total of seven authorities serve the county, with Cumbria County Council responsible for services such as adult and children’s social care, maintaining roads and libraries, and Allerdale Borough, Barrow Borough, Carlisle City, Copeland Borough, Eden District and South Lakeland District responsible for services such as rubbish collection, housing and planning and environmental health.

The seven councils in Cumbria have been developing ideas about restructuring local government for some time.

A number of proposals have been put forward for different set-ups, including that of a unitary authority. 

The Government is now asking for the public’s views on the matter, believing that people should have their say on the future of local government in Cumbria.