YOUNG farmers from the north and south of the County took part in what was to be the last face-to-face competitions before the country was put back into lockdown.

Those taking part in the Junior Member of the Year at PRUFC and Lane Farm on Monday, November 2 adhered to the covid -19 risk assessments and social distancing, which has become a way of life for those taking part in competitions.

Armed with face masks and hand sanitiser, the young farmers did not disappoint and those taking part competed at a very high standard.

Results were as follows: Northern District: 1, Rosie Pratt (Drigg); 2, Billy Sibbald (Drigg); 3, Mark Musgrave (Raughton Head); Joint 4th, Charlotte Elliott (Skelton) and Kate Rowland (Raughton Head).

Southern District:1, Ruth Cooper (Lowick); 2, Isabel Wilson (Lowick); 3, Charlie Barker (Eden Valley).

The top three competitors from each district will go on to the County Round which will be held in January.

Thanks to judges, Mr Richard Gardiner, Mrs Helen Pickup, Mr John Garnett and Mr Roger Bainbridge and hosts and stewards Robbie Tuer, William Longmire and Jess Rogerson.

James Taylor, current Chair of Crook YFC was awarded the Mrs Dorrie Galbraith Award for the member making the greatest contribution to Cumbria YFC who has not been recognised in any other way.

James was presented with the award at the Cumbria YFC County AGM on Friday, November 6.

"We shone the spotlight on this very special young farmer and asked him about his time with Cumbria YFC," said a YFC spokesperson.

James joined Crook YFC in 2015 when he was 22.