A SLIGHT dip in membership numbers was reported by officials at an annual meeting of Cumbria’s Young Farmers Clubs.

Figures at the end of August 2019 stood at 929 members in the 15 northern district clubs, a drop of 59 on the previous year, which had enjoyed an increase of 1.4 percent on 2017.

But Amy Greenup, the outgoing northern district chairman, reported at the 38th AGM held at The Hundith Hill Hotel, Cockermouth, that the district was still “going strong”, with clubs currently looking “very healthy”.

The AGM also heard that the northern district had also seen a loss of £8,468, which District Treasurer, Lisa Bowe, said was attributed to less successful socials leading to a decrease in takings and only one evening of district entertainments. “Central costs for the county had also risen which had impacted on the district bank balance,” added Lisa, who went on to thank members and sponsors who raised money for the district.

In her speech Amy praised Eamon Monaghan from Skelton YFC’s triumph at the NFYFC finals of the Member of the Year competition and Sydney Simpson from Lamplugh YFC taking joint first position in the NFYFC final in the 17 years and under category in the Clay Pigeon Shooting competition.

Amy went on to tell those gathered that Skelton YFC, despite overcoming some exceptionally challenging times, had hosted a fantastic Field Day at Home Farm, Greystoke by permission of the Peile family. The club had even gone on to take overall first place on the Field Day.

New officers for the year are: President, Richard Gardiner, vice-president, Gillian Winspear, chairman, Robbie Tuer, Raughton Head YFC,vice-chairman, Emma Blaylock, Longtown YFC, treasurer, Lisa Bowe, independent examiner, Helen Little, social and competitions secretary, Samantha Bell, Caldbeck YFC, and minutes secretary, Amy Bowness, Raughton Head YFC.

Trophies presented on the night were: Becklees Trophy for the Best Winter Competition results won by Raughton Head YFC; The Alan Bowe Trophy for the Young Farmer of The Year was presented to Jade Haughan, Wigton YFC; The Willie Whiteford Trophy for the Best Club was won by Skelton YFC; Cumbria YFC stalwart, Robin Gate was called upon to present the Robin and Ida Gate Trophy for Junior Member of the Year to Anna Morley of Skelton YFC.