THE Liberal Democrats held on to the Westmorland and Lonsdale seat as Tim Farron was re-elected as MP with an increased majority.

Tim Farron, who increased his majority from 777 (2017) to 1,934, said: “On a night where some results may go for us and some against us - it’s very clear that the Conservatives have won a huge majority – for us to win here against that backdrop is not very much short of a miracle.”

Conservative James Airey, who received 22,909 votes, said: “Can I just wish Tim well. He’s got the best job I think in the country and I wish him every success for the future.”


  • Tim Farron (Liberal Democrats): 25,795
  • James Airey (Conservatives): 23,861
  • Phillip Black (Labour): 2,293
  • Steven Bolton (Brexit Party): 763