A DEDICATED volunteer has been awarded for his work with a wildlife charity.

Cumbria Wildlife Trust’s top accolade, a Gold Badger’s Paw Award, has been presented to John Gorrill, from Wigton.

Every year a select group of Cumbria’s top conservation volunteers are chosen by Cumbria’s dedicated wildlife charity, to receive the special award to thank them for their many years of hard work in helping and raising awareness of wildlife.

Mr Gorrill was chosen for this award because of his commitment to volunteer at Cumbria Wildlife Trust’s northern nature reserves, in particular, Bowness-on-Solway, Drumburgh, Moss and Orton Moss, as well as leading over 100 volunteer beach cleans along the Cumbrian coast.

Mr Gorrill has been awarded the prize by Stephen Trotter, CEO and John Farmer, chair, alongside nine others, who were honoured at Cumbria Wildlife Trust’s Annual Members’ Conference which was held at Kendal Rugby Club on Friday, October 11.

Stephen Trotter, chief executive of Cumbria Wildlife Trust, paid tribute to their outstanding work.

He said: “Volunteers play a vital part in making Cumbria Wildlife Trust a success.

“They help us to achieve our aims and we really value their commitment, support and hard work.

“It is fair to say that Cumbria Wildlife Trust was created by volunteers, is maintained by volunteers and will only be able to continue its work, thanks to its many volunteers.

“It is amazing how many people work so hard for Cumbria Wildlife Trust, in so many different ways, and for free. We are incredibly grateful to them all.”

The awards were also presented to Janet Antrobus, Ruth Carling, Laurence Carlyle, Sue Gibson, Ann and Philip James, Teresa Morris, David Stevenson and Alison Whalley.

Janet Antrobus, from Kendal, was chosen for her commitment to removing invasive plants along the River Kent and to botanical surveying on many of our restoration projects.

Ruth Carling and Sue Gibson were selected for their dedication to Cumbria Wildlife Trust’s local support groups.

Laurence Carlyle, John Gorrill, Ann and Philip James, and David Stevenson were all honoured for their commitment to volunteering at nature reserves.

Alison Whalley was chosen for her commitment to wildlife through her work at the Environment Agency.