Wednesday, 25 November 2015

Subscriptions  |  evouchers  |  Jobs  |  Property  |  Motors  |  Travel  |  Dating  |  Family Notices

Carlisle City Council elections: Conservatives stay in power

In Carlisle, the Conservative administration led by Mike Mitchelson will remain in power for at least another 12 months with Liberal Democrat support.

The Liberal Democrats, however, saw their vote collapse across the city after they lost the Castle ward, where Labour’s Willie Whalen defeated sitting councillor Colin Farmer, and it came third in Morton, a former Lib Dem stronghold.

The party came fifth in Currock, trailing a left-wing anti-cuts candidate and the British National Party.

Labour came a step closer to gaining control of the city council for the first time since 1999 after capturing a seat Castle ward from the Liberal Democrats.

The win cemented its position as the largest party but left the party still shy of an overall majority.

There are now 24 Labour city councillors, 22 Conservatives, four Liberal Democrats and two Independents.

Eighteen of the 52 council seats were up for election. Labour is now confident it can seize control when another 17 are contested in May 2012.

Group leader Reg Watson said: “Without a doubt that’s what we’re aiming for and that is what’s possible next year. I think we’re in with a good chance.”

Former Lib Dem leader Trevor AllisonCORR accepted that voters were punishing his party for entering into a coalition Government with the Conservatives.

He said: “The electorate have reverted to two-party politics at this election – Labour and Conservatives – and we have been squeezed in the middle.”


Belah: Karen Gallagher (Lab), 664; Andrew Hill (Ind), 401; Trish Vasey (Con),* 1,033. Majority: 369. Turnout: 42.2%. CON HOLD.

Belle Vue: Jackie Franklin (Lab), 912; Stephen Higgs (Con) 734. Majority: 178. Turnout: 34.2%. LAB HOLD.

Botcherby: Shaidat Danmole-Ellis (Con), 287; Mike Middlemore (Ind), 432; Terry Scarborough (Lab), 720*. Majority: 288. Turnout: 30.5%. LAB HOLD.

Burgh: Dallas Brewis (Green), 75; John Collier (Con)*, 556; Michael Gee (Lib Dem), 114; Robin Pearson (Lab), 222. Majority: 334. Turnout: 55.7%. CON HOLD.

Castle: Joanne Beaty (Tusc), 90; Neil Boothman (Green), 135; Colin Farmer (Lib Dem)*, 438; Willie Whalen (Lab), 549; Ben Whittingham (BNP), 84. Majority 111: Turnout: 29.3%. LAB GAIN.

Currock: Abdul Harid (Lab)*, 829; Terence Jones (Lib Dem), 71; Brent Kennedy (Tusc), 104; Kevin Reynolds (Con), 325; Mike Ward (BNP), 123. Majority: 504. Turnout: 31.2%. LAB HOLD.

Dalston: Nicola Clarke (Con)*, 1,108; Robert Dickinson (UKIP), 170; Grant Warwick (Lab), 478; William Wyllie (Lib Dem), 500. Majority: 608. Turnout: 47.2%. CON HOLD.

Denton Holme: Lynn Bates (Green), 75; Barbara Eden (Con), 332; Amanda Jeffries (Tusc), 60; Hugh McDevitt (Lab)*, 913; Michael Owen (UKIP), 101; David Wood (Lib Dem), 96. Majority: 581. Turnout: 32.4%. LAB HOLD.

Harraby: Hannah Dolan (Con), 558; Cyril Weber (Lab)*, 1,125. Majority: 567. Turnout: 33.9%. LAB HOLD.

Irthing: Syd Bowman (Con)*, 444; Julia Devlin (Ind), 177; Beth Furneaux (Lab), 177. Majority: 267. Turnout: 48.8%. CON HOLD.

Longtown & Rockcliffe: Ian Brewis (Green), 44; Robert Dodds (Lab), 323; John Mallinson (Con)*, 637; Elizabeth Parker (UKIP), 147. Majority: 314. Turnout: 33.8%. CON HOLD.

Lyne: Gerard Champney (Lab), 132; Jonathan Devlin (Ind)*, 158; Judy Prest (Con), 496. Majority: 338. Turnout: 48.5%. CON HOLD.

Morton: John Bell (Lab)*, 1,104; Elaine Bromley (Green), 51; Deborah Clode (Lib Dem), 219; Gillian Forrester (BNP), 92; John Metcalfe (Com), 51; Judith Pattinson (Con), 337. Majority: 767. Turnout: 39.3%. LAB HOLD.

St Aidan’s: Stewart Blake (Con), 471; Tony Carvell (Ind), 83; John Reardon (Green), 368; Reg Watson (Lab)*, 704. Majority: 233. Turnout: 34.5%. LAB HOLD.

Stanwix Rural: James Bainbridge (Con)*, 1,010; Charmian McCutcheon (Green), 116; Lee Sherriff (Lab), 306; Carol Weaver (UKIP), 145. Majority: 704. Turnout: 42.6%. CON HOLD.

Stanwix Urban: Jacquelyne Geddes (Con)*, 1,154; Richard Hunt (Green), 208; Kevin Parker (Lab), 947. Majority: 207. Turnout: 48.2%. CON HOLD.

Upperby: Georgina Clarke (Con), 257; James Osler (Lib Dem), 233; Daniel Thorburn (Tusc), 93; Ann Warwick (Lab)*, 743. Majority: 486. Turnout: 32.5%. LAB HOLD.

Yewdale: Joe Hendry (Lab)*, 1,254; Michael Randall (Con), 845. Majority: 409. Turnout: 43.5%. LAB HOLD.

ABBREVIATIONS: (BNP), British National Party; (Com), Communist; (Con), Conservative; (Ind), Independent; (Lab), Labour; (Lib Dem), Liberal Democrat; (Tusc), Trade Unionists and Socialists Against the Cuts; (UKIP), UK Independence Party. Sitting councillors marked with an *.


News & Star What's On search


What do you think of rail services in Cumbria?

Good. But there is always room for improvement

Not good: There needs to be much more investment

I rarely travel by rail

Show Result

Hot jobs
Scan for our iPhone and Android apps
Search for: